NEETAKU: Who The Heck Is This Guy?

WOW! What a way to start out a new blog, am I right? Some random guy talking about boobs and panty shots. There had to be a few WTFs thrown around after reading it. Which is why I’m writing this intro post to help dissipate the cloud of confusion that is hovering about your heads.

For starters, I’m sure the 1st question many of you have is what’s up with the name NEETaku. Well at the of me starting up this blog I’m not in school or currently employed, which explains the NEET portion. And since I’m a big anime fan, it only made since to combine it with otaku. Thus, my nickname was born!

Now that that’s out of the way, let me give you a brief history on my anime fandom. To be honest, I didn’t know what anime really was until I was in middle school, and by that time I had already watched at least 3 anime series on a consistent basis. I just assumed, like most kids that all cartoons came from the U.S. The very first show I recall watching was Samurai Pizza Cats.

That's right. I knew who to call when I wanted some pepperoni.
That’s right. I knew who to call when I wanted some pepperoni.

The next show I remember watching on a daily basis was Rounin Warriors, a staple of many Saturday morning/early morning cartoon segments for quite a while. That was when I was around….6-7 years old. Then, at around 8-9, I came across what I consider to be the ultimate in gateway animes: Dragonball/Z. If you didn’t watch that show as a kid, you’re either lying or didn’t have TV. I have yet to find a person who hasn’t at least glimpsed at those series. Naturally being a male child, I was instantly hooked by the fast paced action and over-the-top battles.

SERIOUSLY? Who HASN'T seen this show?!!
SERIOUSLY? Who HASN’T seen this show?!!

Those shows basically carried me over until middle school where I first learned that they originated from Japan and not America. It was also around that timeToonami became my childhood, lol. I can’t remember a day when I didn’t rush home to sit down in from of the tube to watch shows like Gundam Wing, Outlaw Star, Rurouni Kenshin and Tenchi. There were other channels that showed anime from time to time, but I like most kids got my fix from that weekly segment. And when Adult Swim began to air around the time I was in high school, I was turned onto more mature themed series like Cowboy Bebop and Trigun.

fb3037ecda2701b6113461fba10ec9fa

I guess that’s about it, really. During and after high school, I really just scanned the Internet for other series to watch and streamed them on my computer. So, I suppose I should state what you can expect from this blog, which I plan to post on either weekly or every other day. I mostly want to focus on the nuances of being an anime fan rather than throw out reviews all the time. Things akin to the fanservice post I made. On top of that, I plan on doing top 7 lists (cause 10 is too much!), 3 episode previews and random thoughts that just pop up into my head.

That’s all for now. Be sure to be on the look out for future postings on here. The next post will be a 2 parter as I give my Top 7 anime of all time list as a way of giving you an idea of what shows I watch. Until then, this NEETaku signing off!!

Leave a Reply

