NEETaku Rants: Romance In Anime Finale – Drawn Out/Zero Resolution Romances

It’s finally here! The very last episode of the latest romcom/harem anime that you’ve slogged through. The main char and his lady to be are finally alone without any form of distraction present!!

They’re holding hands…

They’re looking into each others eyes…

They’re going their separate ways…Wait, what?

WHAT?!

maxresdefault (3)
WWWWHHHHHAAATTTTT!!!???

The only thing that equals my rage for the overabundance of fanservice in anime would be my utter disdain for when romcoms/harem anime do not end with two people becoming a couple, or when they beat around the bush 24/7. NO ONE likes a cliff hanger, especially when the show promises a conclusion to said romance! And it’s not just limited to those types of series. Any show that either draws out the romantic tension in it for longer than needed, or just out right never resolves it, makes my blood boil hotter than the surface of the Sun. I’m looking your way Major!!!

tumblr_mvh7qdY1yY1qee9nyo1_500
100 Episodes…100 EPISODES FOR THIS CRAP!

I get it, I get it. The Disney style of romance where people hook up after like 3 days isn’t at all realistic or enjoyable. It’s the thrill of the hunt, blah blah blah. I GET IT! But I’m sorry, there is just nothing about two people continuously walking on egg shells around each other for 20+ episodes when we ALL KNOW they are head over heels for one another. Haru and Kuroyukihime from Accel World, Ledo and Amy from Gargantia. Heck, even my favorite anime of all time, Hajime no Ippo, is guilty of this. Time and time and time again Ippo and Kumi are one second from sealing the deal, but…Derpy Derp! Can’t have that! Let’s draw it out for 50 more chapters. SONUVA…!

hajime-no-ippo-111332
No word…Just…NO Words

And this is not just something I’ve noticed in the more modern forms of anime. No, this sort of thing has been going on since for over a decade. Case in point, Relena Darlian and Heero Yuy from Gundam Wing. I could punch both of these jerks in the face! The very moment they shared a second of screen time I thought ” Yup, they are going to get together by the end of this”. The very thought of Heero would cause Relena to lose all sense and turn into a love-sick puppy. But no, nothing…Nada…Zilch…Squat…Zero. Oh sure, they’ve hugged each other and held hands, but they never became a couple And the most egregious act of beating around the bush didn’t even happen in the anime. Behold:

sc002e7b26
– Flips a table.-

Now, some may say ” Well, romance is not the main theme of the show”, yadda yadda yadda. Don’t give me that crap! They knew what they were doing yanking us along like that! Either put up or shut up, dang it! Ippo X Kumi 4 Lyfe!!

I can sort of, slightly forgive the lack of resolutions to romantic tension in harem style shows, but only because the author might fear fan backlash from their “waifu” not being picked. I mean, when every chick wants to jump your bones how do you just pick one? Just look at most people favorite harem from the 90s Tenchi Muyo. Most people forget that he never hooked up with anyone. Oh sure, it was implied that Ryoko was his baby mama given the Daughter of Darkness movie, but there was never any mention of it in the series.

What I can never get over though are the 1 on 1 scenarios. When it’s just 1 dude and 1 chick there is never a good excuse for them not becoming a couple. If you set out to make a romance anime, the actual act of two people falling in love is a prerequisite, not just extra credit! MAN UP AND HOOK UP! HAVE A SHOTGUN WEDDING IF YA GOT TO, I DON’T CARE!!

Tenchi-Universe-Tenchi-Muyo-wallpaper-01
The battle rages on to this day

Welp, that brings an end to my first of hopefully many little series where I go off on a certain aspect of anime that drives me Cuckoo for Cocoa Puffs. Hope you guys enjoyed and let me know down in the comments below. Btw, I’ve finally decided on a posting schedule around my work schedule, so look forward to next one being done by Wednesday.

And as always, this is Just…My 2 Cents.

Love+and+peace+before+it+was+cool+love+and+peace_57e272_3838874

4 thoughts on “NEETaku Rants: Romance In Anime Finale – Drawn Out/Zero Resolution Romances

  1. That’s kind of why I found My Love Story refreshing. Sure, the romance moves at a glacial pace but at least they are an acknowledge couple from episode 2. And having just watched the second season of Snow White with the Red Hair, I was ready to toss the remote through the screen when the season ended. Seriously? How much longer are they planning to draw that out for?
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

