3 Up, 3 Down: My Hero Academia

So , while wracking my brain about new topics for my blog, I suddenly had an epiphany. For all my talk about anime I’ve yet to actually talk about watching anime! Yeah, you’d think I woulda gotten around to doing that by how, right? Truth be told, I haven’t had much time to actually enjoy a series or two. Job, life and all that junk.

But, now that I’ve cleared my schedule a bit, I’ve decided to start a new series of posts where I give a sort of first look at new shows I’m currently watching. These quasi reviews will be based solely the first 3 episodes of the anime, and I’ll be keeping things simple by only the listing Pros and Cons. Why only the first 3? Because I feel that if a show can’t hook you in the first 3 episodes, it’s probably not worth watching. So, let’s get to the 1st series in this new line of blog posts: My Hero Academia.

Characters

Plot Summary

Izuku Midoriya is a regular middle school student in a world where people with superpowers known as “Quirks” are the norm. However, he dreams of one day becoming a Hero, despite being bullied by his classmates for not having a Quirk. After being the only one to try to save his childhood bully, Katsuki, from a Villain, All Might, the world’s greatest Hero, bestows upon him his own quirk, “One For All”. The story follows Izuku’s entrance into U.A. High School, a school that cultivates the next generation of Heroes.

Pros

Establishing the World/Setting

While some might say that it was rushed, I actually liked the manner in which the world was established by the show. It was clear and to the point, giving you just enough to help you understand exactly what’s going on. They could’ve done a wee bit better with our main char’s back story, but that’s a minor gripe. Speaking of our main character…

A Classic Underdog

Izuku's_Anime_Colored_Character_Design

Normally I get annoyed with the whole loser/geek being the Savior of the World schtick, but MHA does a good job instantly making you want to root for Izuka. His dreams of being a hero are dashed at an early age when he’s told that he doesn’t have a Quirk despite being the son of parents that do. Needless to say, he took the news well:

FLR7r31
The Feels, man…. The Feels

Yeah, this guy reminds me of Goro from Major in that life craps on him a ton on the beginning. He’s constantly mocked for getting Quirkless and a bit of a Hero fanboy. The creators of the show do a great job of showing just what a struggle it is for someone like Izuka to go through life not being special, and you feel for him each time he gets kicked to the dirt by the world around him. I look forward to seeing him grow more.

boku-no-hero-academia-02
Keep your head up, Izuka! The world’s on your side

 

The contrast of Art Style & Tone

Given just how bright and colourful the art/animation in My Hero Academia is, the actual tone of the series couldn’t more opposite. I went in expecting to be laughing the majority of the time, and instead found myself holding back tears. While not dark, there is definitely a serious tone to the show. It sort of reminds of Steven Universe. While it puts up the front of being a comedic show, it can turn up the drama in an instant and do it quite well. It was a pleasant surprise to say the least.

An Imperfect Idol 

5278314-3811911071-Boku-

The hero All Might is the anime equivalent of Superman. The Boy Scout. The guy all other heroes aspire to be like. But, just when I thought I had guy pegged, this happens…

All_Might_Full_Body_True_Form
Someone get this guy a sandwich

Yet another enjoyable, early twist in the first few episodes. Turns out All Might received a severe blow from a villain a while back, collapsing one lung and destroying his entire stomach. These injuries only allow him to use his Quirk for 3 hours a day. This only helps to drive home the show’s theme that it’s the person, not the power, that makes them a hero.

As much as I’ve gushed over this show thus far, there’s always two sides to every coin.

Cons

Overt Racism/Classism

It’s made clear on the beginning that the emergence of Quirks in the world was an out of the blue sort of thing. Therefore, people pretty much went through their lives not knowing they had hidden super powers. With that in mind, why are people with Quirks such DOUCHEBAGS!!? Every single moment he’s on-screen Izuka is constantly jeered, berated and outright discriminated against simply because he’s Quirkless. Don’t these people realize they were JUST LIKE HIM only a few years ago?! Get your heads out of your rear ends! That goes double for the show’s biggest offender…

Katsuki is a Scum Ball!

Not gonna sugarcoat it, I positively loathe Katsuki.

tumblr_nl5uvfK4nW1u7air4o1_1280
I HATE
tumblr_nr306asWS41uzaw3zo1_1280
THIS GUY!

 

large
HATE, HATE… HATE!!!

My Hero Academia just set the record for me hating a character. His elitist attitude makes blood boil. Not a second goes by that he isn’t reminding Izuka of his “place”in the pecking order, even to the point of physical abuse. So, needless to say, I wasn’t the least bit concerned when he nearly got killed in the second episode. No really, he can go die for all I care. No amount of character redemption later on will cause me to like the guy. NONE!

The Token Fanservice Char

hqdefault (1)
Uuuuuuggggghhhhhhhhhh 

-Rubs temples.-

Please… PLEASE tell me she’s not featured a ton in this show. Literally the first sentence out of her mouth let’s me know that her only purpose is to be T&A for otakus to fawn over. Just…ugh.. I hope she’s not a thing….

So, after considering the pros and cons of My Hero Academia, would I recommend this series to others? Survey Says:

1422081961513

The Ushio seal of approval! Nice! This is definitely a must see anime. The clash in art and tone, as well as the innovative take on established clichés, are more than enough to keep your attention throughout. At least, you know, if the first 3 episodes are any indication.

As a side note, I’m looking for currently running series that I could watch to get back into the swing of things as far as watching anime. Would really appreciate suggestions down in the comments. Look forward to hearing from you guys.

I’m NEETaku and this has been Just… My 2 Cents.

Leave a Reply

