30 Day Anime Challenge Day 14: Anime That Never Gets Old no Matter How Much I Watch It

Man…wish I coulda thought of a shorter way to write that title…

Hmm…” Anime I Can Re-Watch Over and Over Again”? See? That sounds much better.

Where was I? Oh yeah…

Common sense would dictate that the one show any of us can re-watch without getting bored would be our favorite one of all time. But, if you haven’t noticed by now, I tend not to follow the usual trends most people do. Not that I wouldn’t mind watching Hajime no Ippo over and over again, but I’m so far ahead in the manga that I just can’t back track that far.

So, what anime possesses such infinite re-watchability as it pertains to me?

crest
Kinda, sort of obvious

There’s a reason why Crest/Banner of the Stars is my second favorite anime of all time. The show is just an enjoyable collection of music, animation and characters. I know I’m beating a dead horse here, or dead T-Rex by this point, but this show…this show…it’s just that GOOD!!

Ok, ok, what is the main thing that keeps me coming back to this anime? Without a moment, it’s definitely the cast of characters in it. From the eccentric, almost lazy Admiral Spoor to the self-serving, slightly racist Baron Febdash, each character leaves some sort of mark on you regardless of the amount of screen time the get. It’s rare that you can watch an anime without picking at least one person whose guts you hate. And with Crest/Banner of the Stars, I just can’t think of any.

fsfkurj
Seriously, Youtube this chick. She’s frickin’ hilarious

I suppose another key factor to me coming back to this show again and again is the manner in which the story unfolds. Some might complain that there’s more talking than action, but that’s what makes the show work! The dialogue between the characters is its selling point. There’s a reason why it’s considered a “space opera” rather than just the usual sci-fi show. You don’t got to a playing of Carmen and complain about there being too much singing, do you?

The most notable interactions between characters outside of the main duo have to be the aforementioned Admiral Spoor and her chief of staff, The Crown Prince of the Abh and his second-in-command and the Biboth twins. Words just can’t describe how humorous those twins are. I was in tears most of the time they were on-screen.

snapshot20090719152538
If you see an Abh smile at you….RUN!!!

 

If you haven’t watched this series and need a break from what you usually watch, I highly recommend you marathon these series. You will not regret it. I can guarantee it.

I’m NEETaku, and this was Just…My 2 Cents.

8 thoughts on “30 Day Anime Challenge Day 14: Anime That Never Gets Old no Matter How Much I Watch It

Leave a Reply

