30 Day Anime Challenge Day 23: Favorite Attack I’ve Seen

Goku’s iconic Kamehameha Wave, Luffy’s Gum Gum Pistol and Ippo’s Dempsey Roll. There have been a ton of both iconic and ludicrous attacks performed on the history of anime. And as impossible it might seem for some, I actually able to choose one out of all of them for today’s prompt. As a matter of fact, I was able to pick two. That’s right, 23 days into this challenge and we finally have our first tie!

tumblr_m4jsbsGPiM1r7td67o1_500

e44167416c6da88b1c2de842bd2d002fc4bcacc8_hq

So, without further ado, I give you the silver medal winner for my favorite anime attack ever:

Dragon of the Darkness Flame(Yu Yu Hakusho)

Vlcsnap-2011-03-17-18h07m00s169.png

 

If there’s one thing I learned from watching Yu Yu Hakusho on Adult Swim as a kid is that you never….Ever….EEEEEEVVVVVERRRRR..talk trash to Hiei without being able to back it up. That was the painful lesson poor Zeru learned in the first round of the Dark Tournament. His uptight, egotistical monologue was soon shoved right back down his throat as Hiei informed everyone that he could basically channel a BFG in his right hand. There are very few one shot kill attacks in anime, and this was one of the first I ever witnessed. But, it’s easier to show than to tell:

A lot of people ask why Zeru didn’t just high tail it out of there before Hiei unleashed this monster of an attack. To them I would like to say this: You cannot run from the inevitable. Once this Beast from the East is released from its confines, the only left for you to do is to put your head between your knees and kiss your butt good-bye.

Shot0180.png

Now I know what some of you are thinking right now. I can hear those little cogs in your heads spinning and spinning. How can there be an attack greater than the Dragon of the Darkness Flame? I’ll be glad to answer that question for you as I reveal the #1 greatest attack in anime history. So feast your eyes upon…

The Gatotsu( Rurouni Kenshin)

gatotsu-ishiki

Whoever said being a one trick pony was a bad thing clearly never heard of Hajime Saito, the lone wolf swordsman from Rurouni Kenshin. While many of the various swordsmen and warriors of the show, including Kenshin himself, possessed a wide variety of superb techniques, Saito literally only had one attack he used in every fight he got into: The Gatotsu. The best way to describe this attack is to picture someone strapping a medieval lance to the front of a Hummer and plowing said lance through several brick walls. That is the amount of force this man could put into this simple thrust attack. But don’t just take my word for it(skip to 10:00. couldn’t find a shorter video):

Like a mack truck I believe is how I would describe it. When your only method of attacking is a s devastating as that, one shot is all you need.

But what do I know? That was Just…My 2 Cents. Thanks for reading..

One thought on “30 Day Anime Challenge Day 23: Favorite Attack I’ve Seen

  1. Heh, I had two picks for this one. Well, first I had one pick, and then they came out with something else that knocked the first one from it’s place. But both are from Usopp. There’s when he beat Perona with his triple-bluff, because it was hilarious, and then there’s when he beat Sugar with the long-range sniping shot that delivered a hilarious psychological attack. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

