30 Day Anime Challenge Day 30: Anime I Wish Never Ended and Continued On

BUST OUT THE POCKY AND RAMUNE, FOLKS!! WE’VE MADE IT OT THE END!!! TODAY IS THE LAST DAY OF THE 30 DAY ANIME CHALLENGE!!! WOO HOO!!!

lribgjv

96427e897b2000f3e649511ec8260f72694594fa_hq

w8zuppy

Man has this challenge been a fickle mistress!! One day she was as sweet as candy, and the next she was as bitter as a lemon infused with a whole bottle of salt. But, despite the ups and downs along the way, I’ve managed to complete it with nary a slip up on my part. So, allow me to put the final nail in this challenge’s coffin by revealing the anime I wish was still continuing right now.

And my answer to today’s prompt is….Drum roll please!!

gyv43ix

maxresdefault1
Garngantia on the Verdurous Planet

No doubt many of you haven’t heard of this little 13 episode anime that came out in 2013, especially given the heavy hitters that came out that year. I myself didn’t get around to watching it until like a year after it was released, and man…what a wonderful little series it was! Allow me to copy/paste the wiki summary of its story down below:

“In the distant future, mankind has taken to the stars and formed the Galactic Alliance of Humankind . The Alliance is engaged in a perpetual war with a tentacled alien species known as the Hideauze . Sixteen-year-old Ensign Ledo is a soldier in the Galactic Alliance, piloting a Machine Caliber, an artificial intelligence-automated, humanoid-shaped battle suit, which he refers to as “Chamber”. After a failed attempt by the Alliance forces to destroy an enemy super-weapon, Ledo is knocked into a wormhole and loses consciousness. When he awakens, he learns from Chamber that he has been in cryo-stasis for six months while his wounds were healing. Ledo learns that he and Chamber have been “found” by a rag-tag band of “primitive” human scavengers. Ledo quickly discovers that he is on board a massive fleet of ships on an ocean-covered planet. Chamber tells him that local star charts reveal the planet is Earth, the birthplace of humanity, a place that members of the Alliance were only familiar with from stories and believed was a myth.”

Typical fish out of water type of story with the main char getting accustomed to being dropped into an unknown world/setting. Not something that hasn’t been done before, but the way that it was written and presented made it seem like a fresh new concept. But just like Accel World, the series felt extremely rushed and ended sooner than I would have liked it to. There was so much more the creators could have done to flesh things out and prolonged the series, and the fact it only got 13 eps just irks me to no end.

So, what is it about this show that makes me wish it got more airtime? Well…I can’t exactly say it without spoiling the series. Sooooo:

spoiler-warning
Geez, this is brighter than I expected!

Towards the end of the anime it is revealed that the creatures that Ledo, the main char, had been fighting the entire time are actually genetically altered human beings. Think about that for a second, folks. This guy was literally born with the sole purpose of fighting in a war. His every waking thought dealt with eradicating a vicious, alien race that was bent on the destruction of the human race. My mind was freaking blown away by this sudden twist. I wanted so much to see how Ledo dealing with this sudden, horrific revelation would play out

And then….bluh…

It’s extremely rare that I’m upset by the ending of a series, but I was totally pissed off by this! They rushed the ending so hard and barely gave the guy any kind of period to think about what he just discovered. I remember some other guy from the future shows up and they have a big battle but that didn’t matter to me. I wanted to see the turmoil and angst that haunted Ledo from having his whole world torn asunder!!

Maybe the could have shown us more of it if they weren’t busy having teenage girls twerking for drunk, horny old men!!

920108d65ad26aadca8dd8e9fd649adb91828de4_hq

I know I mentioned it a while back, but it bares repeating people!! Why did this show need 2 fanservice filled episodes!!? They were only given 13 episodes to work with and wasted 2 of them on pandering to the otaku crowd! WTH, man?!  Some how, some way, they need to get another season done for this show. You can’t just present such an awesome twist without fleshing it out fully. I need closure, Garngantia! I NEED CLOSURE!!!

Welp, there it is, folks! The last post of the 30 Day Anime Challenge. Thanks to all of those who tuned in to every one of my posts during this entire event, and also shared their answers as well. Gonna take a much needed break from typing and catch up on other things.

I’m NEETaku and this was Just…My 2 Cents!!

2 thoughts on “30 Day Anime Challenge Day 30: Anime I Wish Never Ended and Continued On

  1. I agree that this series needed more episodes to deal with some of thesubject matter, and it really needed to stop wasting some of the time it had. I loved the story of this series and the characters but I found the execution was very hit and miss. Still, that final plot twist that just didn’t get the attention it deserved… Now I really want a remake of this series with far more focus and some extra episodes to give this story justice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

