Would I Date Her? – Dandere

Ya know…maybe I should’ve saved the yanderes or tsunderes for last. Think I might’ve spent my powder too soon. Regardless, this is the last post in this series where I tell you whether I’d date any of the most popular Dere tropes used in anime today. And if you haven’t figured it out yet, the last chick on this list is the Dandere. Or, as I like to call them:

tenor
That one chick that NEVER says anything, EVER!!!

Now some of you may think that sort of description should’ve be saved for the Kuuderes. However, a Kuudere will at least tell you what they want every now and then ala Rei from Evangelion. Danderes, on the other hand, are basically mutes. To call them perpetual wall flowers would be a HUGE understatement. If a fire would suddenly break out in the building you were in and a firefighter told you that only one person didn’t make it out, 10 out of 10 that person would be a Dandere.

There is a method to the madness that is the Dandere trope, however. They are social butterflies not because they don’t have anything to say. They are just afraid of something they say/do being misinterpreted the wrong way. Regardless of your personality, that’s a common fear that most of us have when trying to interject ourselves into an unknown situation. Another difference between Kuuderes and Danderes is that while the former gradually opens up like a melting popsicle, the latter blossoms like a firework in the night sky. A Dandere finally breaking out of their shell is akin to Pandora’s Box being opened. Once you have their trust, it is rare that they ever go back into shells for extended periods of time. A good example of this would be Nagisa from Clannad, especially after she performed that solo skit in school.

nagisaacting
The rarest flower of them all takes time to bloom.

Now, what one must take into account when dealing with a Dandere is that it’s going to take time to get them to open up, much like the Kuudere. And while it won’t take as much time as with a Kuudere, patience is STILL a requirement when trying to wine and dine this chick. So, taking all of that into account, would I date a Dandere?

giphy

You wanna know why I would take the time to crack the icy shell of a Dandere? It’s because I AM A DANDERE! Yeah, as much as I rant and rave on this blog, I’m more of a listener than a talker IRL. Unless a subject that I am familiar with comes up in the conversation, you can pretty much find me somewhere in the background just nodding along to everything being said. On top of that, unlike with Kuuderes who I won’t date, you KNOW the reason why a Dandere is being quiet. She’s afraid of saying the wrong thing and hurting someone’s feeling. I can work with that unlike the jigsaw puzzle that is the Kuudere.

So, that’s my take on all the popular Dere tropes in anime today. Perfect timing too as it seems we’re in the month of love. <33 Let me know what you think down below and if you’d like me to do more series like this. I’m NEETaku and this was Just…My 2 Cents.

 

 

 

One thought on “Would I Date Her? – Dandere

Leave a Reply

