3 Up, 3 Down: KADO: The Right Answer

Thank you, oh Goddess of Anime! For in the barren desert of 2nd/3rd seasons, slice of life card battling high schoolers in fantasy worlds that make up this Spring season, you have granted me access to an oasis of originality!

If it wasn’t obvious by my opening statement, I am super excited to talk about today’s featured anime. It’s been a long time since a new show has debuted that has piqued my interest this much. So, without further ado, let’s jump right into talking about the Good, Bad & Ugly of KADO: The Right Answer!

727d5b1d08eb8473429c0508168dde6e1490546412_full

Quick Plot Summary: While taking a business trip using a plane, Kōjirō Shindō and his co-worker Shun Hanamori witness the sudden appearance of a gigantic cube called KADO that appears out of the thin air, coming into their plane that could not overpower the cube’s speed. While Kojiro and Shun, along with other 251 passengers, are taken undamaged inside the cube, they encounter a man who looks like an ordinary human. He identifies himself as Yaha-kui zaShunina, and he wishes to intervene with Japan’s internal affairs.

The Good

kado-5
Warning! Incoming game! Warning! Incoming game!

First off, an alien/interdimensional race that doesn’t want to immediately nuke the Earth and take over?! When’s the last time you saw that?! I thought for sure that when this gigantic cube fell on top of that airplane, a bunch of puke green aliens were going to come out and just start blowing crap up! On top of that, the human response to this sudden phenomenon wasn’t to nuke it as well. Dare I say, they actually acted like human beings and were afraid to even go near it. How’s that for not sticking to conventional thinking!

Another feather KADO can stick in its cap is the fact that our main protagonist isn’t a some gung-ho, spiky haired, mech piloting teenager. Instead, he’s a negotiator for the Japanese government that just so happened to be onboard the plane that was consumed by the cube Kado. Shindo is shown to have a rep for being a cool customer when negotiating, and that personality trait is immediately put on display as his first instinct isn’t to panic but to calmly assess the situation and figure out how to keep everyone safe.

One of the things I really like most about the show thus far is its focus on communication. The “alien” visitor, Yaha-kui zaShunina, makes it very clear early on that he seeks to advance humanity by sharing the knowledge he has. Naturally, this leads to a lot of conversations between characters which, let’s face it, might turn off most people due to the lack of action. Not me, obviously!! Given my love for Crest of the Stars, this character driven approach is right up my alley! It feels like the show is building up to something big, and I’m incredibly eager to see what sort of plans Yaha-kui zaShunina has for the Earth.

Last, but certainly not least, the animation is frickin’ gorgeous. It took me a while to notice it but the anime’s art style is a mixture of CGI and hand drawn animation. And while other studios have struggled with this sort of thing…

maxresdefault2
*coughs* Berserk *coughs*

KADO’s dual animation styles blends seamlessly with one another. Not once did the characters seem janky or stiff. Other studios should take lessons from these guys if this if CGI is truly the future of animated shows from now on.

 

The Bad

I’m going to seem really nitpicky this time around cause I honestly don’t have much issue with the series thus far. Well…almost…but we’ll get to that. I’d like to start with this image:

Kado 1

Lady! An object of astronomical proportions has just bamfed right in front of your very eyes! Forget about the ice cream cone you probably overpaid for anyways!!

Then there’s this little incident:

Kado 3
Ahh!! It Burns!!

Look, I know nudity is a part of life and what not, but I don’t even like seeing myself nude sometimes!! And having some naked dude just show up out of nowhere when you’re trying to make sense of a strange situation is a little unnerving. Even Shindo agrees with me on this!

Kado 4
See!?

Ok, enough with the nitpicking. Is there anything I truly dislike about this anime so far? Yes. Yes there is.

 

The Ugly

Kado 2
Uggghhh

Kanata Shinawa. Oh my gosh…what is she doing in this type of show? I’m seriously asking. What is a hyperactive, easily over excited ball of energy doing in this show?! By her appearance she looks like she’s in college, but she acts like a 2-year-old! Yeah, Ed from Cowboy Bebop was basically the same sort of character, but she never seemed to over stay her welcome. This chick….it’s like there’s caffeine in her veins instead of blood. I can only take so much of this sort of whimsical personality before I start banging my head against a brick wall.

tumblr_oo0v7wh74k1u8wfz9o1_1280
Seriously!! Calm the heck down!!

It should be pretty obvious at this point, but would I recommend watching KADO: The Right Answer?

76314-anime-thumbs-up-gif-ynsf

 

This show is gigantic breath of fresh air in a somewhat stagnant anime industry. Pause whatever other series you’ve been watching and check this one out now!!

I’m NEETaku and this was Just…My 2 Cents!!

 

2 thoughts on “3 Up, 3 Down: KADO: The Right Answer

  1. I’ve really been enjoying this series so far. Hopefully they manage to keep it interesting until the end. I kind of like Shinawa though. She kind of brings a bit of vibrant energy to the episode where we have a lot of very serious (though interesting) conversations. She hasn’t managed to make me feel she’s over stayed her welcome yet. Plus, I loved her in the first episode where she was asking if she could crash the drone into the cube. It was fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

