NEETaku’s 30 Day Anime Challenge Day 15: Manga That Was Better Than The Anime

Let’s face it: Adapting manga/comics is very tricky, and sometimes, unrewarding business.

 

b82cd5cb8067ef6396b2d5f0a4d10377a99ee30566496d96cd7766c72f38ce15

Despite the numerous successfully times companies have translated a manga to an anime, there are those times where it just doesn’t work out. Maybe the budget was spent on something else. Maybe the source material wasn’t enough to make as many episodes as first thought. Or maybe the manga just doesn’t translate that well for some odd reason. Such is the case for today’s subject:

eyeshield-21_o_595503

If you haven’t learned by now, I’m a huge sports anime nut. Even more than, though, I’m a football fan. I watched, played it and even coached it once. Football has been a part of my life since as far back as I can remember. So naturally I was drawn to the Eyeshield 21 manga. And, like with Initial D, I eventually began to desire seeing those crazy plays animated on the screen.

Unlike Initial D, however, the experience wasn’t as enjoyable. While the characters and their personalities were present and accounted for, they just seemed….off. Sena was still the overly introverted pushover, but they also turned him into a coward. Hiruma was just as diabolical, but his actions seemed censored. The only one that seemed to survive unscathed was Shin, but that’s because he’s just the typical every man. Despite the changes though I still found them fun to watch. What wasn’t fun to watch was the animation.

tumblr_inline_nb7cml0emd1qi38f1
Ugh…it looks so unnatural…

Eyeshield 21 suffered from what I dub ” The Dragon Ball Z” syndrome. As in, while the animation looked awesome at times, there were WAY too many episodes you could tell were done by the B team. One episode things looked epic and superb, then BOOM: It looked like cow turds. This really came to bare in some of the actual games. The characters movements looked robotic, stiff and repetitive. I know most companies save the best animation for the big moments, but clearly the studio behind Eyeshield 21 didn’t.

On top of that, there were some many breaks in the action. After almost every play there would be a “Full House” moment where the Devil Bats talked about friendship, teamwork and giving it your all. Again, typical of sports anime but it just seemed overboard in this show. I couldn’t get into the drama of the game cause I got taken out of it every second. It was a mess!

1530174fc3d547baa77cd44162b2b991
JUST PLAY FOOTBALL ALREADY!!

I’m NEETaku and that was Just…My 2 Cents!!!

3 thoughts on “NEETaku’s 30 Day Anime Challenge Day 15: Manga That Was Better Than The Anime

  1. I’ve never read a manga. Ever.
    I’m also not into sports. At all. …with possible exception to martial arts, but even then, I’ve hardly ever watched anything.
    I have seen exactly one football game in person, and I was freaking bored. It didn’t help that for every minute spent on a play, there were two minutes when they weren’t, so the whole thing with the time between plays… actually rings rather true! LOL! 😛
    …of course, there are obvious liberties taken, like with that gun… and why is that girl wearing devil wings and a tail?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

